Selena Using Her Popularity For Good Again

Selena Gomez

In 2008, Selena Gomez was named the UNICEF spokesperson, and this year she continues to do good. Selena stars in a new public service announcement calling for safer drivers.

Selena wants teens who have just started driving to put their phones away when they get in the car and instead concentrate on the road. She tells viewers, “Don’t do a thousand things in your car! In the car, just focus on what you need to be doing.”

Selena will start driving when she turns 17 in July, and promises to be safe behind the wheel. She says, “I’m going to try to put my phone on silent. You can tell yourself, ‘I’m not going to get it,’ but once you hear it you get tempted and distracted. So for me… I’ll put it on silent, put it in my purse and just drive…I’ve almost been in wrecks because of people (using phones while driving)…I’ll sit there and look at someone and go, ‘Gosh! She completely almost ran into us,’ then look at her and see she’s on the phone. That’s the reason!”

Selena is one smart cookie! We love her!

Leave a Reply

